The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Meyer Lemon & Blood Orange Treats

February 14, 2011 , , , , , ,

Seeing as how it’s Valentine’s Day, I’m going to put off the Orange Olive Oil cake for a few more days and give you something a bit more festive. I had several Meyer lemons in the fridge from my citrus order as well as blood oranges. I’ve been anxious to use them before they go bad but not wanting to waste them in something unworthy. I know, the things I get my blood pressure up about. The waiting causes them to go bad in the first place!

ANYWAYS, I settled on the idea of St. Clements Orange and Lemon Cookies, an editor’s pick from Food52. The recipe called for citrus, saying that lemon or orange would be all right. I adapted a bit, deciding to mix the two, which gave the cookies a fun Valentine’s Day flare.

These are meant to be cut into shapes but that never bodes well for me. Instead, I rolled into teaspoon-sized balls and flattened with my trusty ‘Beer, Bourbon and BBQ’ glass.

Recipe below with my notes. Depending on the size of your cookies, this will make 3-4 dozen. To see the full recipe check it out here. It was a bit wordy so I cut it down quite a bit.

• 1/2 cup butter, salted or unsalted, at room temperature
• 1/2 cup sugar
• 1 medium egg
• 2 tablespoons lemon juice (freshly squeezed, after you’ve zested the lemon)
• Zest of two or three oranges, finely chopped (I used blood oranges)
• Zest of two or three lemons, finely chopped (I use Meyer lemons)
• 2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for rolling the dough for cutting
• 1 teaspoon baking powder
• 1/4 teaspoon salt
• More lemon juice, for icing (if you want it)
• Regular white sugar, for making the zested sugar (if you want it)
• Confectioners’ sugar (for icing, if you want it)
• Cointreau or orange juice, for decorating (if you want it)

Zested Sugar (I didn’t do this because I was trying to make it to yoga but then I ate too many cookies and didn’t go anyways. This is how life goes in Brooklyn.)

1. Mix one teaspoon each of lemon and orange zest for each 4 teaspoons (1 Tablespoon + 1 teaspoon) of regular white sugar. Stir together in a shallow bowl until thoroughly mixed. You’ll want to do this before you start baking so the sugar has time to absorb the flavors.

Cookies

2. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees
3. Whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt
4. Cream the butter and sugar.
5. Add egg and citrus juices; beat well.
6. Add 2 Tablespoons (combined and firmly packed) of lemon and orange zest to the dough

7. Add flour mixture to creamed mixture. Mix well.
8. The dough should be easy to handle. If it isn’t, chill it for an hour or so.
9. (I skipped this step instead rolling into balls and flattening to ¼” thick.) Roll out the dough on a very lightly floured surface and cut with cookie cutters. Place the cut shapes of dough on a cookie sheet covered with parchment (or lightly oiled, if you don’t have parchment).

10. If you opt for the teaspoon-sized cookies, bake for 8 minutes. Depending on your size and thickness, bake for 12-15 minutes. The cookies are done when the edges are very light brown. I would suggest doing a test cookie.

Icing

11. Mix 1 teaspoon lemon juice (or other liquid) with 1/3 cup sifted confectioners’ sugar. Add more sugar or liquid to get it to the consistency you want. You can also substitute the citrus juice for Cointreau or any other liqueur. I added in a few squeezes of the blood orange and zest which gave it it’s pink color. Very cute!

12. Once the cookies have cooled, spread icing on them and sprinkle them lightly with a pinch or two of the zested sugar mixture.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

