The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Gourmet sherbet for the citrus lover

March 2, 2011 , ,

More oranges! God, I am so sick of oranges but after two months I am finally figuring out fun things to do with them.

I had some blood oranges left from 2 orders ago that were on the verge of going bad as well as two meyer lemons. I took my previous cookie recipe and decided to give that combo a shot in ice cream.

For some reason I was super worried about the acid spoiling the cream. I was searching and searching for lemon ice cream recipes and all of them had eggs in it.

After waiting all of 5 minutes for someone to get back to me on foodpickle, I took my chances. I should have waited on the foodpickle because then I would have realized that I was being retarded and searching for the wrong kind of recipe. Duh! Make Sherbet! Fancy lemon and blood orange sherbet. It was so obvious that I couldn’t see it with one glass of wine in me. (ok, it was 2 glasses.)

Anyways, what I ended up with is my own recipe that tastes like a refreshing after meal sherbet. (Or after wine sherbet.) (I’ve been drinking a lot of wine this week.)

1 ½ cups heavy cream
1 cup nonfat milk
¾ cup sugar
1 tbsp of honey
Juice of 2 meyer lemons
Juice of 1 blood orange
Zest of 1 lemon and 1 orange
1 tsp of Vanilla extract

(Freeze ice cream maker according to manual instructions.)

Mix zest, juice, honey, extract and sugar together. Let sit for 30 minutes.

Whisk in cream and then milk. Freeze in ice cream maker for 25 -30 minutes until creamy and delicious.

Eat!

Notes for next time:

– Only 1 cup of cream and 1 ½ nonfat cup milk for a lighter sherbet.
– If making lemon only – Add strands of saffron for color – Thanks innoabrd @ foodpickle.
– Only ½ cup sugar. (Only if you like things less sweet.)

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” -Oscar Wilde

My Grandparent's Kitchen

March 2, 2011

