The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Red Sauce heaven in a jar

March 8, 2011

I love Union Market. I don’t want to. I want to hate it but I just can’t. It’s impossible. Everything is so shiny and clean. All of the produce is great and local when available. The fruit, even when not in season, is ripe and juicy. The meats are pink and the cheeses are immeasurable. The ready-made food is incredible although I have yet to justify the $17+ for their quiche when I know I can buy the same crust in the back of the store and make it myself. It’s a food heaven. One thing that really stands out is their Union Market brand grocery items.

I’ve been a fan of their Olive Oil for quite some time. It’s a great deal, $8 for 1 liter. It’s a decent quality. Recently I tried their tomato and basil marinara sauce. I’m always loath to try jarred marinara sauce. I’ve been fed Prego and spent the night with a case of indigestion worse than my grandmother ever had. I’ve had others that were too sweet leaving me feeling like I just had dessert. I’ve had sauce that’s been doctored up that’s passable but there’s always that underlying feeling of someone telling a lie.

I judge. A LOT. And this causes me to go to great lengths when attempting a red sauce. So, imagine my surprise when I tried the Union Market tomato and basil and was completely blown away. It was so fresh! I checked the label – made with jersey tomatoes. Incredible!

This sauce is great. It has to sweet bite of a fresh tomato with absolutely no acidic tongue at all. It’s a vibrant red, tinted with flecks of fresh green basil and garlic. It’s like someone put a bunch of fresh delicious tomatoes in a bowl with some basil and garlic, mashed them up just a bit and then put them in a jar for my enjoyment only. It’s great with some fresh mushrooms and spinach mixed in or just by itself with a bit of Parmesan cheese sprinkled on top.

Buy this immediately. And get me a jar while you’re there because I’m out and have been drinking too much wine to walk my lazy but over there. Although I may not need it after I figure out what to do with my Jersey canned tomatoes I’m getting from Fresh Direct tonight.

NOTE: Have trouble using all of the sauce when you buy a jar? Put half in a plastic bag and freeze until you’re ready to use!

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

