The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

The Meyer lemon continues its rule

March 15, 2011 , ,

My mother kept telling me to make lemon bars.

“Ugh MOM, why would I make lemon bars? So I can eat them all?”

Anyways, so on Sunday I made a lemon tart. And I hated every second of the tone her voice took when I told her. Little does she know I’m not eating one bite of it.

This was my first venture into a lemon tart. I totally cheated and bought some of my favorite ready-made crust from Blue Duck Bakery at Union Market. I usually never make tarts, pies or quiches because I hate making crust and I refuse to buy the premade kind. Well, I refused to do so until I discovered this crust. It’s delicious. Flaky, buttery. PERFECT. And it’s $6 for 2 crusts. A bit pricey but a price I am willing to pay. I know, I’m a big scam because I buy ready made crust. So sue me.

I checked out a few recipes and because I was still suffering the effect of a cold I went with the easiest of what I saw which consisted of blending butter, eggs, whole lemons and sugar, pouring into the tart pan and cooking for 40 minutes.

Easy right?!

Totally. Only, I screwed things up just a bit. First, I screwed things up by not following one recipe. You would think I would learn. Try something the right way before I start to fiddle with things but noooooo.

The Easy Mary lemon tart on Food 52 intrigued me. But I’ve become too reliant on food52 and was really looking to switch things up a bit. But in haze of Alka-Seltzer Plus, I somehow managed to mix three recipes together. I think. Ugh, not really sure what happened. Anyways, what I ended up with wasn’t bad. (I lied. I did have a tiny bite.) I put two whole lemons in (from some other recipe) and I would only recommend one al’ la Easy Mary but next time I will be adding in the juice and zest of an additional lemon. Right now it just has too much lemon rind taste. Good texture though!

Turns out, there’s a few things to note when baking with lemons.

– You get more juice when they are room temperature. Take out when you take out your butter.
– They are easier to zest when they are cold. A conundrum I know! But since this recipe calls for a whole lemon, you don’t have to worry about it. Just a note for future lemon endeavors.

You can view the original recipe here. Below is my recipe with notes. And yes, I do have plans to move away from my citrus extravaganza soon. I have a coffee cake recipe bookmarked as we speak.

1 large Meyer lemon cut into 8 pieces
Juice and zest of 1 Meyer lemon
2 cups superfine sugar – Put your sugar in the blender before everything else and blend on high for a few seconds.
1 stick butter
1 tsp vanilla
4 eggs
Tart Shell
Powdered sugar for dusting.

1. Preheat oven 350 degrees.

2. Put all ingredients – 1 whole lemon plus juice and zest of one additional lemon, sugar, butter, vanilla and eggs into the blender and blend until smooth.
3. Pour into tart shell
4. Bake 40 minutes

5. Cool
6. Dust with a thick layer of powdered sugar.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

I do almost nothing with lemons except lemon zest for salad dressings or marinades, but apparently I use a lemon like I use a computer, only for 3% of what it could be used for. 🙂

“A boy doesn’t have to go to war to be a hero; he can say he doesn’t like pie when he sees there isn’t enough to go around.” ~E.W. Howe

My Grandparents' Kitchen

March 15, 2011

Me too up until now. I get about 3 a week with my fruit CSA so I’ve been trying to not waste them anymore. It’s tough! Great quote and thanks for reading!

thebreukelenlife

March 15, 2011

