The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Cherry Scones!

March 30, 2011 , , , ,

Posts are going to start becoming sparse as I move into busy busy work time. I really don’t know how I’ve managed to keep up like I’ve been. Anyways, next week especially will be EMPTY because I won’t even be at home. So sad, I don’t know what I’m going to do about my morning smoothies! Anyways, enjoy this because it will be the last time I cook over the next few weeks. I know I did!

This was my first foray into scones. I thought maybe I should start doing something with my Costco sized bag of dried cherries I’ve had in the fridge for 3 months. The original recipe is from a 2008 Gourmet which you can view here. I adapted a bit using ½ whole-wheat flour like I like to do sometimes. I’m realizing now that this doesn’t make for a very attractive looking scone. I also added in a bit of ground ginger and orange zest for an added zing.

• 2 cups sifted flour (sift before measuring)
• 2 cups whole wheat flour
• 1/2 cup sugar plus more for sprinkling
• 1 tablespoon baking powder
• 1 teaspoon salt
• 1 tsp vanilla
• ½ tsp ground ginger
• zest from one orange
• 1 1/2 sticks cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
• 1 cup dried cherries
• 1 large egg
• 1 cup heavy cream

Preheat oven to 375°F with rack in middle.

Whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, ground ginger and salt in a large bowl. Scatter butter on top and blend with your fingertips until mixture resembles coarse meal. Mix in dried cherries and orange zest.

Whisk together egg, vanilla and cream in a small bowl, then fold into flour mixture until dough just comes together (dough will be quite delicate).

Turn out dough onto a lightly floured surface. With floured hands, press into a 1-inch-thick rectangle. Cut out rounds with cutter and arrange 2 inches apart on a parchment-paper-lined baking sheet. Gather scraps together and cut out additional scones.


If you would like, brush scones with extra cream and sprinkle with sugar before baking.

Bake scones, rotating baking sheet halfway through, until tops are golden, 25 to 30 minutes. Cool on a rack about 10 minutes before serving.

Overall, you can’t taste the whole wheat too much. It’s a great tasting traditional scone that’s not overly sweet or overly cakey like those nasty Starbucks ones. It’s just the color that’s a bit off which I really think is going to screw up my disappearing to counter time ratio in the office.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

