The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

As local as it gets

April 21, 2011 , , ,

It was one of my goals, when I moved into this apartment, to have basil plants in every window. I freaking LOVE basil. I put that shit in everything. When I first moved in, I grabbed a big plant from the farmers market but I went through it faster than it could grow. So, I decided this spring to start from seeds. I love the idea of Seed Savers and ordered some Genovese Basil and Thai Basil. I’ve been having a great time with them and what a great way to bring in the spring.

The Genovese basil has been growing better than I expected so this past weekend, I moved my seedlings to a bigger pot. As you can see, it was successful!

I also forayed into some arugula this weekend and it’s already coming up!

I’m looking forward to planting some spinach seeds mom and dad sent me for my birthday. I hope they’re as successful as the rest.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

