The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Beer, Lobster and Meat

June 3, 2011 , , , ,

Holy crap there’s a lot going on. It’s summer guys! Yay! Here’s a few upcoming foodie/exciting things coming up. I plan on doing all of them so look out!

Today!


Eataly Beer Garden opens!

I know, I know. This is NOT in Brooklyn. But I have a serious fetish for this place and I don’t care. Today the long awaited Birreria finally opens up to the public. It’s 8,000 square feet of beer drinking bliss with a retractable roof. It seats 300 people which means it’s hopefully big enough to hold ALL of the European tourists that traipse through that place and a few happy New Yorkers. They’re offering a ‘beer forward’ menu by chef Alex Pilas as well as Italian and American beers. There will also be three original cask ales brewed right there.

Madison Square Eats closes!

One door opens and another closes. Today is my first half day Friday so I have big plans to catch a beer outside at Eats (and maybe a pretzel) and the saunter over to Eataly to get a spot at the beer garden before the after work rush hits. You can catch most of the vendor here at the Brooklyn Flea and a lot do have brick and mortar so you won’t have to suffer for it unless you really want to.

Tomorrow!
Smorgasburg

Photo via foodspotting

Do you live under a rock? If so, click here. I’ll be there tomorrow with S and C. All I know is that I want the teriyaki meatball (above) in my belly.

June 9th

Lobster Roll Rumble

L and I will be hitting this up next week. We were lucky to get general admission before it sold out. There are still VIP tickets available at $250/person. Yikes! But Tasting Table is boasting a sweet, sweet VIP gift bag so it might actually be worth it. That is if you have $250 laying around. There will be 17 lobster roll stations and sides from Brooklyn Brine, Deep River Snacks and many more. (SIDE – OMG Martha is on the Lobster Jury.) There will also be lots of drinks and desserts from all of these people. I need to get my eating pants on.

June 29th

Meet your Maker
Edible Brooklyn and the Brooklyn Brewery

This is a chance to tour your local food business. There’s also an after party at the Brooklyn Brewery with snacks! I love snacks.

Businesses available for touring:

Mast Brother Chocolate
The Brooklyn Winery
Blue Bottle Coffee Roaster
The Brooklyn Brewery

My obsession with Mast Brother Chocolate is making me lean towards that but I’m also itching to see the Brooklyn Blue Bottle. We’ll see what happens.

July 23rd


MEATOPIA
Governor’s Island
Nuff said.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

