The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

A rhubarb snack that fits the bill.

June 7, 2011 ,


Rhubard has been all over the farmer’s market lately and I have been itching to use it. What I have not been itching to do is turn on my oven for an hour to bake a pie or crumble. So I was pretty excited when I saw last week’s NY Mag recipe by Louisa Shafia’s for Rhubarb and Pistachios over thick yogurt, (that required little cooking).

This is intended to be a sweet and savory dessert. You can view the original recipe here. I, on the other hand, am still trying to adhere to my diet when possible so I edited to fit the Cinch plan and adjusted the fruit to compensate for the lack of honey.

I know, I know, but people this is really working for me. I’m down 20 pounds and two pants sizes. You can’t fight the numbers and as I recently read (in McSweeney’s) “It’s a full time job being skinny!”

My point being, this is good even with omitting the good stuff like the honey. Check out my version below and let me know what you think.

2 cups of diced rhubarb
1 cup of cherries (I used frozen, yay Costco! But cherries ARE in season now if you’re in the mood to pit the fresh ones.)
1 cup of raspberries (Again, frozen but I would prefer fresh.)
½ tsp cardamom
¼ tsp ground nutmeg
Pinch of Salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp of fresh ground ginger
1 tsp rosewater (This is in the original recipe – I didn’t have any but it would be a nice addition)

1. Wash rhubarb, trim ends and leaves.
2. Chop the stalks and place in a sauce pan with ¼ cup water. Cover and bring to a boil then lower to a simmer, stirring occasionally
3. The rhubarb will start to soften after 5 minutes. Stir in cardamom, nutmeg and ginger
4. Continue to simmer, covered until completely soft. Mine took about extra 10 minutes.
5. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla extract.

This makes approximately 2 cups of compote.

Spoon ½ cup over 6oz of nonfat greek yogurt. Top with 2 tablespoons of pistachios or your nut of choice and ¼ cup of toasted oats for a complete snack.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

