The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

A simple strawberry cake

June 10, 2011 ,

Every since I got back from California I have been itching for more strawberries. And not the tasteless, cardboard ones you buy at the Key Foods. I want real strawberries that are bright red and vibrant with the sun. And I want the berry tummy that comes along with eating a whole quart in one sitting because they are just so delicious and perfect.

Sadly, that cannot be cheaply attained in NYC. Upon getting back, I ran to the market. And then I saw the $7/quart price tag. Good lord. Like, are strawberries even allowed to cost that much? If so, why??? I’m sure if I went the farm and actually saw what people did the produce beautiful, organic strawberries and then to deliver them to NYC I wouldn’t even flinch. But being a consumer, walking through the market and on a whim wanting strawberries, I cannot deal with that price.

But I have been thinking about them. I finally decided that the one way I would allow myself to buy strawberries is if they were for someone else. So I thought about it and thought about and then came to a decision that they would go to my favorite couple J & G as a belated anniversary gift.

Instead of just handing over a quart of strawberries to them I decided to make a strawberry summer cake from Smitten Kitchen.

(Ed Note: a quart of strawberries with a little ribbon tied around it would in fact make a lovely gift…for me.)

This cake is very basic and I think there’s a lot that can be done with it if you feel like playing around. You can replace the strawberries with another seasonal berry if you want. I also think it could be interesting with some lemon zest added in. Or mixing in ¼ cup of slivered almonds. The original recipe is from Martha. Smitten Kitchen also has options for using barley flour.

Give it a try and let me know what you think!

6 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature, plus extra for pie plate
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon table salt
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 large egg
1/2 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 pound strawberries, hulled and halved

Preheat oven to 350°F. Butter a 10-inch pie pan or 9-inch deep-dish pie pan (I used a 10 inch.)

Whisk flour or flours, baking powder and salt together in a small bowl.

In a larger bowl, beat butter and 1 cup sugar until pale and fluffy with an electric mixer, about 3 minutes.

Mix in egg, milk and vanilla until just combined.

Add dry mixture gradually, mixing until just smooth.

Pour into prepared pie plate. Arrange strawberries, cut side down, on top of batter, as closely as possible in a single layer (though I had to overlap a few to get them all in). Sprinkle remaining 2 tablespoons sugar over berries.

Bake cake for 10 minutes then reduce oven temperature to 325°F and bake cake until golden brown and a tester comes out free of wet batter, about 50 minutes to 60 minutes. Let cool in pan on a rack. Cut into wedges. Serve with lightly whipped cream if you would like.

Do ahead: Cake can be stored at room temperature for up to 2 days, loosely covered, but good luck with that.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Simple but yummy by the look of it

whatsaysyou

June 10, 2011

Thanks! It was tasty. I’ll have another strawberry recipe up later this week. Also very simple but delicious!

thebreukelenlife

June 28, 2011

