The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Cocktail Week NYC

June 23, 2011 , , ,


I’ve been having a hard time getting up in the morning. Generally, I have no problem bouncing out of bed by 6:30 or 6:45 with plenty o f time to bake and write my post for the day before I need to leave for work. But lately, things are dragging to say the least. Even as I write this, it is 7:45 and I know that I’m going to be late for my eye doctor’s appointment and of course work. I’m hoping that this is a phase and that the getting up at 6:30 all the time wasn’t. If it’s the latter and not the former, I may need to reconsider things, starting first and foremost with all of my drinking.

Which would really be a shame because then I would miss out on excellent evenings such as last night. Girl’s night has become a pretty regular thing, which I think we’re all pretty happy with.

The discovery of Cocktail Week NYC really peaked my interest and gave us another reason to get together. We had plans to check out the specials at Death & Company with ladies from work but when they bailed we decided to keep it to Brooklyn and hit up Clover Club.

After leaving work 30 minutes early so I could make it to the greenmarket for the end of day specials and run to the Nut Box to cash in on my Groupon, I actually got to the Clover Club on time to meet M & L. I’ve been to the Clover Club several times and I’m always looking for a reason to go back. Two cocktails and an appetizer for $20 (and 11 cents) is reason enough for me.

Overall, their food is great. I’ve had their lamb burger for lunch. Very good albeit light – only 5 oz. Maybe this only seems light compared to the monstrous Breslin lamb beast. It is served medium rare with onion and cherve goat cheese. You can select greens or crisps. Paired with a cocktail, it’s a decent brunch to cure what ails you without putting you out of commission for the rest of the day.

Other great highlights from their menu:

French Press coffee
The bacon tasting – black pepper, maple and duck bacon
Baked Eggs with chorizo and Manchego.
Potato Cakes – served with truffle crème fraiche (!)

You can see their full menu here.

For the cocktail week appetizers, they had deviled eggs and crisps. Both of these options are available on their Seasonal Menu as well.

We got one of each. The deviled eggs came with a selection of three: smoked parika & garlic bread crumbs, crispy bacon croutons and mushrooms duxelles. L expertly cut each egg half into three slices. All were very good with the bacon (obviously) taking the lead.

The crisps were also very good. The whole time I was thinking, “Wow, these are really good potato chips!” Now, I’m reviewing the menu as I write this, and I realize that they are tossed in duck fat. And the side sauce was truffle crème fraiche. Humph! No wonder.

The cocktails are, of course, fantastic. For the first round we all went with the New York sour – Rye whiskey, lemon, orange and a claret snap. The claret snap on the top is an artistic touch but also gives the drink a lovely rounded finish.

L and I stuck with that for our second while M moved on to the Leone – Blanco tequila, bianco vermouth, Solerno, Peychaud’s bitters. This is not on the cocktail week menu but worth the venture is tequila is your thing.

For other bars participating in Cocktail Week NYC check out the map. Specials runs though June 29th. Proceeds go to City Harvest and The Museum of the American Cocktail.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

