The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Yay! Strawberry Pie

June 29, 2011 ,

When I was a kid, we used to get strawberry pie all the time from Eat in’ Park. I don’t remember if we got it because it was actually good, or just the fact that it was strawberry pie and holy cow, that’s awesome. I just remember the very large jellied strawberries sticking up out of the pie crust and there was just nothing better.

So, I was super excited when I was going through The Essential New York Times Cookbook and came across the jellied strawberry pie. I had splurged and bought more strawberries from Union Market. They were $6 for a large filled quart so I figured it was a better deal than the $5-6 for a not so filled quart I was seeing at the market lately.

I was toying with the idea of a cocktail. Our Sensual Sunday got a little side tracked with everyone traveling and it was just down to a few of us. So we decided to just order pizza (re: South Brooklyn Pizza). I still wanted to do something special and those strawberries all but jumped in my basket. But all the cocktails I was finding were vodka or gin based and while we are not opposed, we are a whiskey group. It would not have been a pretty picture to see us sloshing around on a Sunday with a pitcher of gin cocktails in our tummies.

So I went with the strawberry pie! This was the easiest pie ever to make. It helped that I had a frozen pie crust in the freezer. My last one I swear. I have vowed from now on I will be making my own pie crust! For the sake of a Wednesday morning and the fact that I have a long day ahead of me, I’m going to send you to epicurious for a pie crust extravaganza by Rose Levy Beranbaum.

On to the pie! I topped this with homemade mint whipped cream. We’ll be talking about this tomorrow.

I forgot to take a picture before it was destroyed...

Pie Filling

1 envelope powdered gelatin
¼ c. cold water
4 cups strawberries
¾ – 1 c. sugar
2/3 c. boiling water
1 tbsp lemon juice

1. Soften gelatin in the cold water. About 5 minutes.
2. Chop 1 ½ c. berries and puree in a blender or food processor. Chill the remainder.
3. Dissolve the sugar in the boiling water in a medium boil. Add the gelatin and stir until dissolved. Add the pureed berries and lemon juice. Chill until the mixture begins to set, about 1 hour. It took mine at least 2 hours.
4. Fold the reserved berries into the gelatin mixture. Turn into the pie shell and c
hill until firm.

Overall, I found there to be too much of the gelatin mixture. I ended up spooning the strawberries into the pie and then filling in the gaps with the gelatin mixture. And now I have a nice little cup of fresh strawberry jello to spoon over my greek yogurt. I would also recommend chopping up the reserved strawberries just to make it easier to cut and eat. I used fresh local strawberries so they were quite small and uninformed.

This would also work with blueberries or blackberries. It’s a great summer treat and who can beat the time it DIDN’T take with a premade pie crust ☺

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Very yummy 🙂

whatsaysyou

June 29, 2011

What have you done to those poor strawberries? What about strawberry shortcake?
Eat-N-Park=not a good thing.

LSU Chemist

June 30, 2011

Agreed! But, NYT versions of ANYTHING pretty much make everything ok. This is no exception!

thebreukelenlife

June 30, 2011

