The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Thai basil pesto w/ spring garlic

July 6, 2011 ,


My Thai basil plants have gotten a little out of control lately. I don’t use it nearly enough. I figured a Thai basil pesto was in order. I could prune the current plants, encouraging them to grow a bit rounder and in the mean time, freeze the pesto for the future. I found some spring garlic in the fridge, left over from the market a few weeks ago. It was a nice mellow addition that complimented the licorice-y spice of the thai basil. Recipe below. Let me know what you think!

– 2 cups of lightly packed Thai basil
– 3 bulbs of spring garlic (whole bulbs! not just the cloves.)
– 2 tbsp roasted dry peanuts
– 1 tbsp red pepper flakes
– 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
– 2 tsp of fish oil
– 1 tbsp Sriracha hot chili sauce (or 2 if you like things really spicy)
– Sesame oil – to consistency

Combine all ingredients except Sesame oil in a food processor. Slowly add sesame oil until you reach your preferred consistency. I started with 1 tablespoon and added approximately 2 more tablespoons for a nice smooth consistency with a little bit of texture. Give it a taste and decide if you need more spice. I ended up adding a little over 2 tablespoons of chili sauce.

As a quick recipe, I sautéed 1 tbsp of the thai basil pesto with 1 tsp of soy sauce, 1 cup chopped mushrooms, ½ c. edamame, and 1 cup snow peas. I put this over ½ cup whole-wheat couscous. Delicious!

This recipe makes approximately ½ cup of pesto. I froze in 1 tbsp increments for future use. (Don’t forget to spray your pan before freezing!)

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

