The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Brooklyn Waterfront Epic Ride

August 1, 2011

The kickoff speech. Couldn't hear a thing...


On Saturday, I did the third annual Brooklyn Waterfront Epic Ride with M and K.

(M doesn’t make much an appearance on here but we’ve been best friends and sisters since college. We’re both pains but we love each other and it was only fitting that we ride 40 miles together so that both of our asses are actually in pain…)

The ride was $20, which supported the Brooklyn Greenway Initiative. Once the Greenway is completed, it will be a 14-mile route from Greenpoint to Sunset Park, connecting all of the waterfront parks and open spaces along the way. Who doesn’t love that? (You can see the full route here.)

The kickoff point was in Greenpoint and went all around the coast to Rockaway Beach totaling 40 miles. I never thought that I would be able to physically ride that far. I had been worried all week that I would have to call a cab right around Coney Island. Or, I would just give up and I would be found, next Friday, still at Coney Island passed out in the sand surrounded by empty beer cans in paper bags as the cops shine their lights in my face.

Turns out – I can do it! And the ride was a lot of fun. Well, let me clarify. It was a lot of Brooklyn. At most times, it’s too good to be true! It’s like heaven on earth. All of your favorite places, combined into one borough. There were times during the ride that I felt as though I was like New Orleans. And at times, Atlanta, Florida, North Carolina and when stretching, Barcelona. But then were other times when it smacks you upside the head and then makes you want to vomit. As much fun as it is riding past Hazardous waste signs – it really does something to a person.

I will say, that this ride made me love Brooklyn even more than I already do. There were some parts that were so freaking beautiful I couldn’t believe it. And the bad parts? Well, that’s life isn’t it?

I have no idea who Zhuangzi is but this is kind of fitting.
“All existing things are really one. We regard those that are beautiful and rare as valuable, and those that are ugly as foul and rotten. The foul and rotten may come to be transformed into what is rare and valuable, and the rare and valuable into what is foul and rotten.”

By the end I had reached a weird Zen state. I couldn’t wipe the smile off my face no matter how much I hated that last bridge to Rockaway Beach. While in the back of my thoughts I was concerned that my legs might literally fall off, I was pleased, thankful and feeling incredibly blessed for being able to live the life that I do. And most importantly grateful for the people I have to share it with.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

