The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

New Feature!

September 11, 2011

One of my favorite places in Brooklyn is my yoga studio, Park Slope Bikram. While there are weeks where I don’t go enough or at all, it remains the staple I need in my life. The sense of community, the diversity, and the strength that I receive when I go there is one of the reasons why I moved to New York in the first place.

Even more so than the studio itself, is the walk there. While yes, it is just a walk. A .6 mile up hill walk nonetheless, it amazes me every time. As summer draws to a close, I realize how incredible these three streets I walk up actually are. Sometimes the winds take me up Warren, across 5th Ave and up Flatbush other times up St. Marks. The community garden, the BBQs, people sweeping the sidewalks, the young boys racing down hill on their scooters, the girls drawing in chalk – everything about it is just so freaking beautiful. There are some days my heart feels like bursting.

Which brings me to my main point, which is the new page I’m launching today called “Yoga Trail”. A few times a week I will be featuring pictures that I take on my way or back from class. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. You can see my first picture here which was taken on Saturday, September 3rd. The sidewalk on St. Marks between 5th and 6th Ave. was covered in chalk drawings by two little girls who were out all day. I particularly liked this one.

Hugs,
The Breukelen Life

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

