The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

The Dekalb Market

September 12, 2011

I’ve been meaning to make it to the Dekalb Market since… for forever ago. Right about since it opened. Finally, I made it this Sunday. The trip wasn’t planned because if it were, I wouldn’t have eaten.

It was a successful first trip. They had postponed their Fashion’s Night out due to a rain and lucky me it was reschedule for yesterday! I got there just in time to snag one of the last gift bags and realize that I was in no mood to be drinking beer so matter how free it was.

Taken as a whole, the Dekalb Market is a great idea. A shopping center made out of repurposed shipping containers; the market is a haven for small businesses. There’s a great shaded picnic area with lots and lots of seating. It wasn’t too busy when I went. Things picked up around 3pm when the free stuff was being handed out. It was an overcast day and it was 9/11. I’m curious to see how things are on a typical Sunday.

Each container is decorated differently, which is very fun. There was a certain sterile quality to the place that I couldn’t quite put my finger on. I assumed a certain urban grittiness would come from a shopping center made out of repurposed shipping containers but it was lacking. Good thing the surrounding neighborhood has it covered.

Moving on…

I was more intrigued by the food than by anything else. There was a great range and I can’t wait to go back for lunch next weekend. The vendors available included: Cheeky’s, Cuzin’s Duzin, Joe the Art of Coffee, Maharlika, Mazie’s Bites, Nile Valley Juice & Sandwiches, Pasticcio, Robicelli’s, Sour Puss Pickles, and Tea by Tiffany.

I did treat myself to a coffee from Joe the Art of Coffee after drooling over fried chicken, crispy fish tacos, cupcakes and grilled corn with ramp butter.

I’ve heard lots about Joe (there are way more location around than I thought). I was excited to give them a try. Conclusion – decent. I had the coffee of the day, which is brewed one cup at a time. It was cheaper than most coffee places that brew by the cup and coming in at $1.75 for an 8 oz cup it was way cheaper. (Hello $3 at Blue bottle.) It was very smooth, lacking the ulcer inducing kick that Stumptown beans often have. (Don’t get me wrong – I do love that kick.)

I was happy to see a sugar cookie from Cuzin’s Duzin in the Fashion Week bag. It was a nice treat with the coffee and while I sat by the red carpet watching everyone drink their free Brooklyn Lager, I was happy as a clam with my cookie.

(No it doesn’t take much.)

The other wares were diverse ranging from local artists, vintage clothes, and accessories to antiques. It’s all very random and seems like it would be a great place to find locally made gifts for out of towners.

And that’s about as far as I got. I think it will be a nice, closer substitute to Smorgasburg that I look forward to exploring a bit more this fall.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

