The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Ina’s Seafood Stock

September 16, 2011


The only way I could make something as obsessive/dedicated as make stock is if someone else was involved. While I do not doubt the merits of homemade stock (yes, I know it is easy) I lack the patience and most importantly, the freezer space.

When P and I ventured into lobster bisque a little while back, his homemade shrimp stock rocked my world. Literally, I have not been thinking about much else. But alas, I do not eat enough shrimp to even comprehend saving the shells for stock. Good for me, he does.

We decided that another lobster bisque night was necessary and for that we needed more stock. He had a lovely bunch of frozen shrimp shells in his freezer so one Wednesday he brought those over. We decided to make shrimp gumbo to lend us the remaining needed shells. I don’t know if I’ll be sharing that recipe. Something necessary was missing from it and while I’ve decided that it was an excellent stew it was most certainly not “gumbo”.

Meh.

P is a good fan of Ina and I can see why. The recipe we used is from the “Tale of Two Soups” show. And needless to say, I am now pretty psyched to have this in my freezer for our next bisque excursion. Although…I am not done attempting to bring him and M into my Bouillabaisse camp.

On a side note – I’m excited to say that Terrific TV Tuesday (or Monday) should be back soon. Yay Fall TV! Must start planning GG premier party now.

Anyways! Here’s Ina’s Seafood stock recipe. Here’s to you Ina because this shit is awesome.

Seafood Stock:
• 2 tablespoons good olive oil
• Shells from 1 pound large shrimp
• 2 cups chopped yellow onions (2 onions)
• 2 carrots, unpeeled and chopped
• 3 stalks celery, chopped
• 2 cloves garlic, minced
• 1 1/2 quarts water
• 1/2 cup good white wine
• 1/3 cup tomato paste
• 1 tablespoon kosher salt
• 1 1/2 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper
• 10 sprigs fresh thyme, including stems

Warm the oil in the pan over medium heat. Add the shrimp shells, onions, carrots, and celery over medium heat for 15 minutes, until lightly browned. Add the garlic and cook 2 more minutes. Add 1 1⁄2 quarts of water, the white wine, tomato paste, salt, pepper, and thyme. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and simmer for 1 hour. Strain through a sieve, pressing the solids. You should have approximately 1 quart of stock. If not, you can make up the difference with water or white wine.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

