The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

This is a story

September 26, 2011

The baby chickens!


about how I went upstate and saw some chickens.

I had such a great time this weekend. It was so, so nice to get out of the city. Where M grew up is so beautiful and her parents were really very nice. They are just like my parents, almost scarily so, and I felt right at home. Friends joke that it is the B&G Bed and Breakfast and I can see why. I ate so good even my PJs are tight this morning. And when her mom gave me a parting gift of a head of garlic from her CSA, I won’t lie – I teared up just a little bit. It didn’t even have to be daylight for me to see M roll her eyes.

While everyday was great, I really loved Sunday. When we got up, M’s mom took me up to see the famed chicken lady from Skyhill Farms.

Skyhill Farms has no website that I can find. If you try looking, let me know. The specialty is the heritage breeds she houses – over 120 chickens and 11-12 breeds. She said that while two chickens may be the same breed, they could look completely different. My favorite were these two because they looked like the tights I picked up at TJMaxx on Saturday.



I’ve only gotten eggs that looked like these once before (from Basis) and I wouldn’t be surprised if they were from her. I don’t know exactly how many farms breed heritage chickens, but the search doesn’t turn up much. One fancy fact about eggs – the size and shape of the egg depends on the chicken. The older the chicken, the bigger the egg. In a world where all eggs are the same size – it kind of makes you think just a little bit about how things are done.

Essentially these birds are endangered. While chickens have been around for forever the breeds lose flavor over the centuries as they are bred to meet production goals. Heritage birds are the original chickens, producing eggs and meat that far surpasses the commercial chicken in taste and consistency.

They are slow moving. According to the American Livestock Breeds Conservatory “Heritage hens should actively reproduce for 5-7 years and roosters for 3-5 years. This is unheard of in commercial production where hens and roosters are used for breeding for a single generation before being dispatched as less than efficient.”


At Skyhill Farms, everything is completely natural. She explained that the eggs are seasonal. She does not use AV lamps in the wintertime so they produce less, especially being upstate where the daylight hours are few and far between in the colder months. Her eggs are in high demand that the Park Slope Food co-op, telling me that they don’t even make it to the shelves once they hit the store.

Do you have a favorite place in the city to buy heritage eggs?

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Schoharie County eggs are the best. I’ve never had fresher eggs than the local farms there. Delicious!
Hope you were able to get over to Catnap Books while you were up there.

The Archivist

September 26, 2011

