The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Concord Grape Muffins

October 11, 2011 ,

I love knowing where my food comes from. It’s become my thing, my personal little luxury when I’m cooking for myself. Of course it’s a luxury my wallet can’t always keep up with, but in the end it’s worth it. Especially like on Sunday when I made the below concord grape muffins. It’s silly I know, but when I finished and knew where everything short of the baking soda came from, I felt good in knowing what I was putting in and where it was coming from.

There are not a lot of recipes out there for Concord Grapes. There’s lots of jelly, jam and a few pies. It probably has alot to do with the fact that I wanted to use up some of my leftover grapes in a productive fashion, determined to make something yummy. I felt lucky to find this muffin recipe, originally from In Jennie’s Kitchen. (Note: seeding the grapes is much less painful at the kitchen table with Hulu on in front of you.)

I tweaked a bit adding in ¼ teaspoon cinnamon and ¼ teaspoon ground ginger. It was made for the egg allergic. I think adding in an egg and lessening the baking powder down to a teaspoon would be perfect for my tastes. I was too worried to mess up the Concord Grapes to tweak it too much. I also used non-fat milk and 100% whole-wheat flour from Daisy Flour (Annville, PA). Daisy Flour is known for their heritage wheat varieties. It is by far the best whole-wheat flour ever.

Here you go. Enjoy!

2 cups (8.5 ounces) flour
1/2 cup (4 ounces) granulated sugar
1 tablespoon (11 grams) baking powder
1/4 teaspoon (1 gram) baking soda
1/2 teaspoon (2 grams) sea salt
6 tablespoons (3 ounces) cold butter, cut into 12 pieces
1 cup (8 ounces/225 ml) whole milk
8 ounces seeded concord grapes
2 teaspoons (10 grams) coarse sugar, for sprinkling tops (optional)

Preheat oven to 400ºF. Grease one 12-cup standard size muffin tin; set aside.

Add flour, granulated sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt to a deep bowl. Whisk to combine. Add butter and using a pastry blender, or your fingers (my preferred method), blend until it forms a sandy-looking mixture.

Pour in the milk and stir, using a wooden spoon, until just mixed and there are no visible traces of flour. Gently fold in the grapes. Spoon into the prepared muffin tins and sprinkle tops with an even amount of coarse sugar, if desired.

Bake 20 minutes, until tops are golden and a skewer inserted comes out clean (it’s okay if there’s grape jam on it). Remove from oven and let cool 10 minutes in the tin, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely before serving.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Hello my name is Carmen i am an Admin for Daisy Flours website and i would love to have your permission to post this recipe with credits back to you on our recipe page.

Carmen

December 2, 2013

Hi Carmen, that is totally great. I’m sorry for the delay in getting back to you. I’ve been getting my teaching certification in yoga and have my nose buried in books – not blogs. I’m getting back to it this week!

thebreukelenlife

July 7, 2014

