The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Eggplant on the BBQ

October 15, 2011

It’s been a long, busy month. Yoga has been calling my name and I laugh at it – my schedule off track, my nose still stuffy from a long cold. We’ve been settling in a bit here, those of us who live the Breukelen Life. It’s boots season now. Sweaters are back. It’s getting to be hunker down time, which is sad but to say we’re not happy to slow down a bit would be a lie. Winter is such a torment.

For now I’m with my parents. It’s nice to be where the leaves aren’t changing even if it’s only for a short day. I’m digging through the last of the garden. An eggplant is on the grill, a tomato marinating, fresh greens are drying. Lobster stock is on the stove from a feast shipped in from Maine and it’s possible they think I am losing my mind.

But for now I’m excited about the Grilled Eggplant Salad that I have been stowing away for a sunny day where I actually have an eggplant and a grill in the same place. My father thinks I’m nuts throwing the entire sucker on the grill but I’m grinning – happy to be pretending that summer is still here. Even if it is for just a short moment.

The original recipe is from the NYT and it’s delicious. I added a tablespoon of fresh basil. I topped fresh greens with the mixture and on top of that, chilled, chopped lobster. With a side of champagne and toasted garlic bread, I am as happy as can be. This will also be great as a brushetta topping. Enjoy!


1 large eggplant
1 plum tomato, diced
1 1/2 teaspoons red wine vinegar
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt, more to taste
1/2 teaspoon chopped fresh oregano
2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
3 tablespoons chopped parsley
Black pepper, to taste
Capers, for garnish, optional
Grilled pita bread, for serving.
1. Heat grill to medium high. Prick the eggplant all over with a fork, put in on the grill and close the cover; cook, turning occasionally, until eggplant is very soft and skin is blistered, about 15 minutes.
2. When cool enough, scoop out the insides of the eggplant and coarsely chop. Transfer to a bowl and toss with tomatoes, vinegar, salt, oregano and garlic. Stir in oil and parsley; season with pepper and more salt if needed. Garnish with capers if you like them. Serve with warm pita bread.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

I like winter, it;s so cosy 🙂 The food is great too. This recipe sounds yummy.

frugalfeeding

October 15, 2011

