The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Jinky’s Santa Monica

October 30, 2011 , ,


On Monday, L and I drove from Smithfield to New York early. I had just enough time to finish my packing, get a manicure and head to JFK. I landed in Los Angeles at midnight a bit tired to say the least. Meh.

When the boss man wanted to meet at 9am for breakfast I knew better than to think he was joking. So I got up early, drank all of my room coffee and checked my email. Then I went down to Starbucks and got an Americano for the walk. And then at breakfast I had more coffee. And then FINALLY I was ready for the day.

But we’re not here to talk about the day or how much coffee I needed to attempt survival. OR, how awful Starbucks coffee really is. We’re here to talk about breakfast!

Which means we’re here to talk about Jinky’s! A few blocks from the ocean in the midst of hotels along the swanky Santa Monica walking mall, Jinky’s is a California mini chain and a staple for great breakfast in the area. My boss had been to Jinky’s a few times before and he swore that I would love it. And I did!

There is a Sherman Oaks location that also serves dinner but in Santa Monica it’s breakfast and lunch only until 3pm. The menu has a great mix boasting over 300 different options. The specials menu was great with a bit of South Western flavors thrown in like the Hueovos Con Pollo (warm corn torillas, eggs over easy, grilled chicken breast, tomato sauce, avocado and mozzarella cheese served with pinto beans) and the Yucatan Quesadilla (Eggs scramble with chorizo, mozzarella and cheddar cheese, green onions, mushrooms, salsa and pea guacamole). Yum! There’s also an extensive selection for French toast, waffles, crepes, eggs Benedict, omelets, eggs, and scrambles.

I was really craving some vegetables after a weekend of eating crustaceans so I went with the Green and White omelet – chopped spinach, broccoli, zucchini, scallions, asparagus, feta cheese with egg whites topped with avocado and Swiss cheese. I added a side of salsa and healthy dose of Cholula even after my boss’s army story of Tabasco basically burning a hole into someone’s leg. I cut the Swiss cheese the second day. It was the perfect, veggie heavy start I needed to the days. I went with potatoes (bad, I know but helpful, with the day) and a side of corn tortillas.

The boss went with Chicken and Herbs – egg whites, grilled chicken breast, parsley, dill, basil and boursin cheese. We were both taken with the boursin cheese which I now realize is the ‘fancy cheese’ you get in the plastic tub at the grocery store for cracker spread. Regardless, it was pretty genius to put it on top of an omelet. It was a great compliment to all of the herbs already in the omelet.

The boss man and I were both so pleased we ended up getting the same thing every morning. The price point isn’t bad for a place surrounded by swanky hotels and the atmosphere is extremely casual. The service was fast and when we complained about the strength of the coffee, they gladly added in 2 shots of espresso.

Sorry – no pictures of the food, it was devoured before it even had a chance.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

