The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Hired Help

November 22, 2011


I’m a bit of a dinner party-aholic. I love cooking with friends and all of us sitting down to a great big meal. While I have always enjoyed it, it’s really blossomed here in my new apartment. I have a fantastic space that is way to big in New York terms and a lovely kitchen table with extended arms.

With that in mind, I’m in the midst of planning a Holiday potluck with some friends and its blossoming in terms of size. I’ve come across a bit of a conundrum and no it doesn’t revolve around what dish to make. (Actually I’m having a really hard time deciding between the traditional Holiday Ham and the 16-hour pork shoulder but that’s another post for another time.)

I’m considering hiring a server to help out with the dishes and cleanup and I don’t know what to do about it. With thoughts of last year’s holiday extravaganza floating in my head, my one downfall was the mess, the dishes, and spaghetti on paper plates. Otherwise it was a complete success.

My initial thought it, ‘Well, why not!’ It’s actually a lot cheaper than expected. I’ve spent more on (A LOT) less and the help would be completely worth it. My friends could go home with clean dishes. We could use real dishes. Most of all it would be nice to have friends over and not send them to the sink once we are done eating. With one big blowout a year, shouldn’t I do it right?

But do the pros totally out weight the con? The one and only con being that it’s actually kind of weird. I pride myself in having an apartment my friends and guests are comfortable in. Would it be weird having a stranger cleaning up?

And in all honesty, I worry about what this says about me. The bourgeois of it is almost too much to take. This is something your boss is supposed to do. But as someone who spends a ridiculous amount on a pair of boots – what’s the difference?

(I swear, every day I’m a different NYT statistic.)

What is the etiquette here? Should I just do it and see how it goes?

Enough wine cures any awkwardness anyways…right?

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

