The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

A Sensual Sunday (on Saturday)

December 5, 2011

I think Saturday was the culmination of my hosting for the year. What’s been a fall season spotted with tiny dinners all came together on for a Sensual Sunday feast (on Saturday) to top all the feasts that came before it. To top it seems like an impossible mountain to climb.

I’ve been having a bit of a hard time eloquently describing Saturday because it really was perfection. I’ve made such great new friends this year and grown old relationships into something truly wonderful. To have all of that in one place, on top of the delicious food everyone contributed was truly a magical thing. If my sad self, new to New York, knew that things would turn out this way, things may have been a bit happier.

And moving on from that, I need to tell you about the food! M kept saying that we needed to chronicle it and she is completely right! Everything meshed together so perfectly. It wouldn’t have worked any more perfectly if one person had been planning the entire meal.

Wassail

Mini Tartlets w/ mushrooms and feta cheese
Baked Brie with Mushrooms and Thyme

Roasted Goose – Thanks C!
Ham
Rumaki

Wild Rice with quinoa and cranberries
Roasted root vegetables
Israeli salad
Marinated butternut squash (Recipe to come!)
Jalapeño corn spoon bread
Goose fat potatoes
Rosemary Potatoes

Banana Cream Pie
Mini Brownie Cupcakes
Red Velvet cake (Recipe to come!)
Pecan, Bourbon, and Butterscotch Bread Pudding
Strawberry Root barb Pie

That’s right people; I have the best friends ever. I’ll be following up this week with my red velvet recipe and the marinated butternut squash, which I just got out of my new favorite cookbook.

Happy Monday!

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

1 notes

  1. Top 10 of 2011! | The Breukelen Life reblogged this and added:

    […] Christmas potluck – Yes, I know this isn’t a restaurant and it’s my apartment. Too bad. My friends rock and […]

