The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

You & Me and the New Year

December 22, 2011 , ,


I’m trying to get a head start on the New Year’s resolutions. It’s time to restart the year and for that I’m excited.

It’s been interesting to look back on the year, see the changes that happened and watch myself working like a grownup instead of watching myself try to work like a grownup. Do things just magically change once your 30? When the year started, I was exploring my weight issues and for once, admitting that I had them. Then I did something nuts. I made a goal and unlike the ways of most New Years resolutions, I kept with this one. (SO grownup!)

Keeping up with Bikram has helped me in more ways than I can imagine and for that I’m especially proud. Bikram has given me a new level of self-awareness and the change in diet has helped accelerate that. I never realized what a level of fog I was operating under until that one day in late March when it was lifted. At the moment it just seemed like someone snapped their fingers and said ‘No More.’ The cloud vanished and things that never made sense before came into focus.

Isn’t life funny like that? Can 2012 be any better than this? I’m excited to see what it brings.

Where will 2012 be taking you?

And on that note, I would like to ask for your feedback. I’m going to be spending the next five days outside of Brooklyn (SOB) examining my time in Brooklyn and how it can better serve this little blog. Thoughts? Ideas? Constructive Criticism? My comments are open and I would love to hear whatever you’ve got!

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

