The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Homemade Eggnog

December 24, 2011


Merry Christmas Eve! I have a few things pending, including a lovely review of Seersucker but for now we’re going to talk eggnog.

I’ve only recently tried eggnog. Something about it always creeped me out which I realize is quite juvenile. I suppose it was always the thought of raw eggs, but these days, most eggnog is cooked. Soat the recent office party Christmas tree decorating party, I tried it and “duh” eggnog is quite good!

I mean really, what’s not good about it? It’s a drinkable custard with alcohol…lots and lots of alcohol. Oh yes, that sureeee is creepy isn’t? And yet another thing to add to the list of “Things I should have been eating a long time ago!”

In and effort to take things to the next level, I decided to make it from scratch. I came across a delightful article in my email about homemade eggnog that inspired me. Of course, when the time came to make the ‘nog, I could not find it so I went with the trusty Gourmet Magazine instead.

They have several recipes posted, the most interesting being the Baltimore Eggnog first published in 1945. While this could have been interesting too make, I was too delighted with my evening cocktails to think that I could deal with making a drink with raw eggs. Something about it just seemed unsanitary at the time.

So I went with this basic recipe instead. Of course, upon tasting this morning, I realize that it needs to more alcohol than the original recipe called for. But depending on your tastes, I would recommend making it the night before and do a little taste in the morning. Still not enough? Add more booze. We used Maker’s Mark boubon and a Korbel brandy. And yes, I think better booze is always worth it even with mixed drinks.

This is the original recipe with a few notes. Merry Christmas!

• 3 cups whole milk
• 7 large eggs
• 1 cup sugar
• 2 cups heavy cream
• 1/3 cup bourbon (I started out with ½ cup)
• 1/3 cup Cognac or other brandy (I started out with ½ cup)
• 1 teaspoon vanilla
• SPECIAL EQUIPMENT:
an instant-read thermometer
• GARNISH:
freshly grated nutmeg


• Bring milk just to a boil in a 2-quart heavy saucepan. Whisk together eggs and sugar in a large bowl, then add hot milk in a slow steam, whisking. Pour mixture into saucepan and cook over moderately low heat, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon, until mixture registers 170ºF on thermometer, 6 to 7 minutes.
• Pour custard through a fine-mesh sieve into cleaned large bowl and stir in cream, bourbon, brandy, and vanilla. Cool completely, uncovered, then chill, covered, until cold, at least 3 hours and up to 24.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

