The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Royal Rose Syrup

December 25, 2011


Before I left town I did a quick drive by Brooklyn Larder to pick up a few little things to bring home.

While I went against my better judgment and picked up a few over priced packets of Liddabit sweets (seriously, those packages are so dinky), I also got a bottle of Royal Rose Rose syrup for cocktails. The colorful design always catches my eye but I can never quite think of a reason good enough to buy. I figured Christmas was as good a time as ever and that my brother might enjoy the nice cocktail recipe on the back.

And now that I’ve tried it, I will make sure this is a party and pantry staple.

The Brooklyn based company just recently hit the shelves this year. There are six flavors, all started with organic, fair-trade sugar and filtered water. There are no preservatives or artificial flavors. I went with the Rose syrup out of pure curiosity and was delighted by the subtle sweetness enhanced by a strong black tea and a splash of five of bourbon. While I haven’t ventured beyond the custom Irish Poet cocktail on the back, I am confident that with a little imagination, the syrups will add a nice dimension to many things other than alcohol.

Tasting table recommended the tamarind paired with limejuice and fish sauce for a twist on pad thai sauce. You can pick up all six flavors at Brooklyn Larger. They are also available at Stinky Bklyn, Blue Apron Foods and through their online store here. You can see a full list of vendors here.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Funny that you brought a few Brooklyn eats home for the holidays. I did the same. My family wanted bagels! They said the only kind they get are the frozen Lender’s. So I had to stop at Bergen Bagels on my way out of town. They may have been a day old, but they were still better than Lender’s! 🙂

jacquelincangro

December 31, 2011

Haha that’s great! Bagels are an awesome thing to take home. I didn’t even think about that!

thebreukelenlife

January 2, 2012

