The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Next Level

April 10, 2012 , ,

I just have a few words for you. Red velvet Ice Cream.

Thanks to the Momofuko Milk Bar cookbook I was able to make this a reality. Albeit, not with a little bit of confusion first. I had been reading through this book for a while now and it’s been a daunting delight. It moves a bit like a puzzle, each recipe reflecting back to another, all things in everything, nothing going to waste which can be a bit overwhelming.

But I wasn’t deterred.

Without a doubt, I wanted to start with the Red Velvet ice cream. I loved the idea of homemade fudge sauce, the cake bits blended up, the tartness of the buttermilk shining through. Yes, this is what I needed to do and things got off to a very sexy start quickly. Despite the ease at which someone can actually whip up the Red Velvet ice cream, it is a lengthy recipe. So, today, we’ll just talk about homemade corn syrup and then in the following days we’ll chat about the homemade fudge sauce and the actual ice cream.

It’s important to note that most things in this cookbook require glucose and gelatin sheets, neither or which I had. Each recipe has a responsible notation for what replacement you can use – powered gelatin for sheet gelatin and corn syrup for glucose. I also had neither replacement.

I opted to leave the gelatin out because it was really too much for me to comprehend although now as I type, I realize I actually have powdered. Opps. As for the corn syrup, I made a delightful sugar syrup as a replacement. Who knew! (The irony that I do not have corn syrup but have everything to make it from scratch is not lost on me.)

The syrup was actually quite easy to make. I almost opted out but when doing a bit of research, the use of corn syrup is necessary when making a chocolate sauce because it adds a nice shine. David Lebovitz has a really helpful article on his blog about when and when not to use corn syrup. Check it out.

The recipe below is as found on theKitchn blog. I cut in half because I rarely need corn syrup.

DIY Cane Sugar Syrup
Makes about 1 quart
Gratefully adapted from “Marshmallows” by Eileen Talanian

2 cups (16 ounces) water
5 1/3 cups (2 lbs + 10 ounces) granulated cane sugar
1 teaspoon cream of tartar
pinch of salt

Equipment:
4-quart sauce pan – one step larger or smaller should be ok
a candy thermometer that can clip to the side of the pan
stainless steel or silicone spoon – not wood
pastry brush
Clean glass jars with lids – half-pint jars are ideal

Combine all ingredients in the saucepan and stir until the sugar is completely moistened. Clip the candy thermometer to the side of the pan and set the pan over high heat. Do not stir the sugar after this point.

As the sugar comes to a boil, dip the pastry brush in a dish of water and brush down the sides. This dissolves any sugar crystals on the sides of the pan that could cause the syrup to re-crystallize. Covering the pan with a lid for a minute or two also does the trip. The steam will wash away the crystals.

Boil the syrup until it just barely reaches a temperature of 240° Fahrenheit. Immediately turn off the heat, remove the candy thermometer, and carefully move the pan to a cool spot on the stove or a cooling rack. Allow the syrup to sit undisturbed until it has cooled completely, at least an hour.

The syrup will keep for two months.

Already I can tell that the syrup is thicker than most and will be hard to pour or measure. Microwaving or heating up gently in a pan of water should do the trick.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

