The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

A cheesy Saturday

April 22, 2012 ,

20120422-110155.jpg

I’m not exactly sure when my obsession with ricotta started but it was probably right around the time I had Salvador Bklyn ricotta.

So creamy, delicious, delightful and it seemed easy enough. Milk, salt, lemon. Who doesn’t have that? Oddly enough, I screwed it up the first time. Well not, screwed it up per se but it was not as good as it could be.

The milk is everything. I was silly enough to not realize this the first time around and bought a regular old gallon from the bodega. This time, I took things up a notch using Ronnybrook whole milk – cream on top accented nicely by their heavy cream.

The first recipe I followed was from Tasting Table claiming to be straight from Salvador. Using only whole milk (no cream), I got a very dry cheese. There was nothing spreadable about it. While yes, the milk quality could have something to do with it. I was not pleased. P and I used it for lasagna and it worked nicely but mehhhh.

This time I went with Smitten Kitchen’s testing and things were magical. I ended up using almost a cup and half of heavy cream and finished off the four cups with the whole milk. (My heavy cream was on the verge of going bad.)

As Smitten’s post says, the more heavy cream, the richer is it. Duh. So, keep that in mind and give it a shot. I tried mine last night with a slice of whole-wheat toast topped with sliced apples and Long Island honey.

Dare I say, there are few things better in life?
Enjoy!

20120422-110345.jpg

Makes about 1 generous cup of ricotta
3 cups whole milk
1 cup heavy cream
1/2 teaspoon coarse sea salt
3 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice

Pour the milk, cream and salt into a 3-quart saucepan. Attach a candy or deep-fry thermometer. Heat the milk to 190°F, stirring it occasionally to keep it from scorching on the bottom. Remove from heat and add the lemon juice, then stir it once or twice, gently and slowly. Let the pot sit undisturbed for 5-10 minutes.

Line a colander with a few layers of cheesecloth and place it over a large bowl (to catch the whey). I do not often have cheesecloth on me but I do have an awesome sieve that works magic in times like this.

Pour the curds and whey into the colander and let the curds strain for at least an hour. At an hour, you’ll have a tender, spreadable ricotta. At two hours, it will be spreadable but a bit firmer, almost like cream cheese. It will firm as it cools.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

2 notes

  1. A Ricotta Frittata! | The Breukelen Life reblogged this and added:

    […] kick of pride when I make it and include it in a recipe. So that takes care of the lame part.(Click here for the ricotta […]

  2. “Lobster is so Cheap Right now!” Lobster Ravioli edition | The Breukelen Life reblogged this and added:

    […] chose to make our own dough and fresh ricotta from scratch. We used my trusty ricotta recipe and had to do a bit of trouble shooting due to a faulty thermometer. No worries though, we just […]

