The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

A place on the Hill

September 10, 2012

I’ve moved. And now that I’m settled, the boxes unpacked, the fridge full, the furniture in place, I’m beginning to get feeling back in my limbs. Moving in New York is such a terrible experience. There’s nothing that can make it easier but to go through it alone, without the safety net of a roommate? Well… the anxiety can be a bit debilitating…

Even so, after two years in my old place I had to go. It only took about one year, for the dust to settle and I was comfortable, for the air to become palatable, thick… almost digestible.

I cannot see ghosts, but if I could, I would see them there. I couldn’t sleep. The heat from the downstairs laundry mat suffocated me. The noise from Fourth Avenue, the construction from the stadium, the booming cars, the screaming teenagers infiltrated everything. And the apartment; the creaking wood floors, the windows that never quite closed, the door that never quite opened without a good bang were all just…creepy.

An old roommate came to mind – memories of her saging our our old Decatur bungalow teased me as the process started to seem not so silly anymore.

Instead of trying to make it work, I left. And let an entire summer go by as I obsessed about packing and attempted to save money for the security deposit.

And now here I am in my sunny apartment on the hill in South Slope. It’s a tad smaller, but there’s a breeze. It’s a bit farther from the train, but there’s an elevator. The city I can see from a bird’s eye view on the roof – perfect for wine drinking and pizza eating.

And the ghosts of Brooklyn’s’ past? They watch over me from Greenwood cemetery – a place where they rightfully should be.

Long story short, I’m getting my cooking mojo back. And with that, I’ll be back here. I’m looking forward to a few new recipes, checking out the fall produce and drinking at all of the bars around my new place. Here’s to a delightful fall and maybe, just maybe a not-so hibernating winter.

“The world is a beautiful place to be born into/if you don’t mind happiness not always being so very much fun/if you don’t mind a touch of hell now and then/just when everything is fine because even in heaven they don’t sing all the time…” ~Lawerence Ferlinghetti

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

