The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Sandy

October 28, 2012 , ,

It’s quiet this morning. A gray haze is seeping over the city. Another storm is on its way and I have finally found my flashlight.

If I wanted to deal with hurricanes…I would have moved South. But now, for the second time, I move my plants away from the window. I gather the candles and matches…put a few bottles of water in the freezer. Tonight I’ll fill a few pots with water. It’s a city person’s preparation I know, but I do what else can I do.

There’s no place I can go, no place to hide, no family to run to in case of evacuation. So I sit and deal and somehow still manage to not worry too much. What are you doing to prepare?

The brother called last night. I could see the sun shining through his Hong Kong apartment. With my sticking cold and the grey fall sky, I feel like I haven’t seen the sun in a week. The New Orleans in him gave me a checklist of to-dos and we moved on.

Speaking of Hong Kong…soon I will be leaving for it. And then Shanghai, followed by Beijing. Any recommendations? I’m more concerning myself with the best place to get dumplings and noodles. I figure the rest will fall into place.

I am off for now. Empty garbage bags have started to tumble across the street and the wind is starting to knock at the windows. Which means, I need to get to yoga before shit gets nuts. Please expect lots of pumpkin in the future! You will also be excited to know I have a new camera on the way which (hopefully) means photos on this site will at least start to verge on legit.

Stay safe everyone.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

My plan includes surviving on wine and halloween candy should I lose power…I have water and food stuffs for the kids (sort of) and a flashlight. I figure that’s pretty good…

Kelly

October 28, 2012

Sounds good to me! Good luck!

thebreukelenlife

October 28, 2012

