The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

A New Year / A new …

January 2, 2013 ,

6:30am came and went in a flurry of snooze buttons this morning. My good intentions flew out the window as the 23-degree air seeped into my not yet insulated AC hole. Warmth under my flannel sheets overtook my thoughts as my fingers yet again inched towards the red snooze on my phone.

Whoops.

C’est la Vie my loves. It’s a new year and I can’t help but be excited despite a little time delay this morning.
____________________________________________________________________________________________

Screen Shot 2013-01-02 at 2.53.27 PM

I am officially back from China in mind, body, and soul and all I can say is “Wow.” When asked, “How was China?” I often leave people in silence for a good bit because I actually don’t know what to say. In my head, my immediate thought is, “Well, it was fucking CHINA how do you think it was???”

Yes, it was the trip of a lifetime but it’s taken me a bit to see it. My jetlag subsided fairly quickly due to a nice mix of narcotics, but the constant turmoil my emotions wrecked on my mind caused me to be a hot mess for longer than I would have liked.

I’m glad I went. If I learned anything, it’s that I have limits. I went into this trip with a complete open mind, a willingness to try anything and a fair amount of prep concerning the innards of animals from L doing her due diligence. But towards the end I was losing it. Mentally and physically (hello Great Wall) I was pushed to a certain limit.

I now know the true meaning of culture shock and more importantly, how I deal with it. (The anxiety of being in a culture where the press is limited and police presence is high was more nerve wracking than I expected.) I also know what maybe my mind isn’t as open as I once thought – nothing hurts more than having it pried open by the Chinese. In the end, I’m happy that I went through all of it. My outlook on the world has changed; my eyes are a bit more open and more importantly the expectations I place on myself have shifted.

And with that, I go into the New Year. A mind, now open (and still throbbing a little bit) and excited. I rang in the New Year with my new beau, new friends and a new excitement for just about everything.
Over the next few weeks I’ll be rebooting this blog a bit. Look for a new layout and a few new voices. Unfortunately my BRAND NEW CAMERA got stolen by the TSA so until I get my tax returns, I will be back to my old, not so hot photos. Sorry.

Happy new year everyone!

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

