The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

A Ricotta Frittata!

January 14, 2013 , , , ,

DSC_0150
Yesterday I made a frittata – my first one and it delightful.

I’m not sure what originally scared me away from them. I have had the perfect pan for two years now. The beauty you see above – 12 inches and cast iron, it was bought with a frittata in mind. (Yes, I know I need to learn how to class cast iron properly.)

But time passed, dinner parties flew by and not a frittata was made. I realized that a brunch would be the perfect time and with that, I invited six lovely people over for a meal. (Granted there was also the fact that I HAVE YET to have people over in my new place after five months… but lets focus on the frittata shall we?)

I made an attempt to keep things simple. That didn’t quite work out as planned, but I can say that there was less food that normal. If I’ve learned anything in the New Year, it’s that baby steps are important! I thought a frittata would be a nice main attraction; a healthy side of bacon, an assortment of breads and a nice flow of mimosas would keep things interesting. And that they did!

There were a few things I was worried about with the frittata. The first – that it would stick. The second – that it would be lame. And the third, fourth and fifth? That it would stick.

There was one thing I knew I wanted to include in it and that was homemade ricotta. I still have an overwhelming kick of pride when I make it and include it in a recipe. So that takes care of the lame part.(Click here for the ricotta recipe.)

A quick search for a “Ricotta Frittata” brought up a simple recipe from my trusty pal Lidia Bastianich. Overall, I thought this was a pretty impressive recipe. Below is my adapted recipe for a healthier serving with a dose of garlic. You can see the original recipe here.

Worried about it sticking? Drink mimosas while cooking for a little liquid courage to flip onto the plate. Things worked out just fine…

(Apologies for the lack of pictures. One word – mimosa.)

Enjoy!

¼ cup extra-virgin olive oil
1 large onion, sliced 1/4-inch thick
1 ripe large tomato, sliced 1/2-inch thick
3 cloves chopped garlic
12 large eggs
½ cup whole milk
1 teaspoon kosher salt
10 large basil leaves, shredded
¾ cup grated Grana Padano or Parmigiano-Reggiano
½ cup fresh ricotta, drained

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Heat oil in a 10-inch nonstick skillet (or whatever you have) over medium heat. Add onions and cook until softened, about 5 to 6 minutes. Push onion slices to one side of the skillet, and lay the tomato slices in one layer in the cleared space. Sear the tomato, turning once until the slices soften just at the edges, about 30 seconds per side. Remove tomatoes to a plate, let onions continue to cook while you prepare the eggs.

2. In a bowl, beat eggs with the salt. Stir in basil and 1/4 cup of the grated cheese until well mixed.

3. Spread the onion slices in an even layer in the bottom of the skillet and pour eggs on top. Reduce heat to medium-low and let cook until the eggs begin to set around the edges of the pan, about 2 to 3 minutes.

4. Arrange tomato slices on top of the frittata and drop tablespoons of the ricotta between the tomato slices. Sprinkle all over with the remaining grated cheese. Bake frittata until set all the way through and the top is golden, about 18 minutes. Let rest for a few minutes, then run a knife around the edge of the skillet and invert onto a plate or cutting board. Serve in wedges, warm or at room temperature.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

