The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Happy Friday!

January 25, 2013 , , , ,

Me after the 1/2 mile walk to the train in 5 degree weather.

Me after the 1/2 mile walk to the train in 5 degree weather.

Well. This week flew by without a whole lot of anything really. Well, there was a black tie event at work. And a nice dinner amongst friends for the Char No. 4 weekly special. And kickboxing. There was that.

But cooking wise? It was a deep dark place. Monday, I knocked out a few dishes to get me through the week neither of which blew me away but I ate them anyways, saving my ‘budget’ for other delightful things. Like this in Red Royalty.

Anyways… it’s Friday! What do you have cooking this weekend?

I’ve had my eye on this Almond Pear Olive Oil cake for about three weeks now but my still heavy chocolate supply is keeping me from adding anything additional to my hips. Never mind that both J and C have sworn me off of baking any more cakes. If the two men in my life won’t finish them off for me… who will?

This recipe for spicy brussel sprouts salad with kimchi, peanuts and lime popped up in my inbox yesterday and I think it will be a nice Sunday to Monday addition to my meals, or just a meal in itself. Brussel Sprouts are in season now!

Other than that, I feel the doldrums of winter kicking in. I’m officially over butternut squash and whatever grain I’ve been mixing it with lately.

And it’s cold.

Let’s see, what else is there to complain about?

Oh yes, it’s cold.

How are you surviving the winter?

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

