The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

It’s been a week…and a half.

February 8, 2013 ,

IMG_1014
or at least it feels like one….god it’s been busy! I don’t know what it is about this winter, but it seems everyone is working a tad harder to stay out, social and involved. And I’ve been just as guilty as the rest of them.

Tuesday, a few of the girls and I took in a chocolate, cheese and wine tasting at Chocolat Moderne. It was New York state themed which delighted me. The chocolate was good (my favorite being the Lovers bar – a white chocolate with passion fruit caramel), the cheese excellent (hello Old Chatham sheep’s milk Camembert) and the wine lovely but sparse. I was pleased to see my favorite sparkling from Lenz winery in Long Island.

Wednesday I made to the Hurricane Club for Restaurant Week. It would have been solely unforgettable if I had not spent a small fortune on the meal. And poor M woke up in the middle of the night with food poisoning. I was worried, as we ate almost the exact same thing, but my current juicing regimen has given me a steel stomach. Nothing says “F you Hurricane Club” more than a body full of beet juice. So there’s that…

Other than that, work has been an expected nightmare and Oh! Look at that it’s now starting to snow. So, with that in mind, the world may or may not end this weekend. Either way, make sure you are stocked with goodies to cook.
_____________________________________________________________

There have been a lot of great things out there lately. Take a look at the below and see if anything inspires you for the weekend.

Prosciutto and Fontina Panini with Arugula Pesto – M and I made this last night for our TV night. We subbed in the Provolone and Pancetta loaf from Eataly and used the (awesome) Costco pesto. I also forgot about the shallots so I quickly pickled a leek I had in the fridge. Yum Yum

One Skillet Wonders – There is nothing I love more than my cast iron skillet right now. I loved this feature on Bon Appetit and am thinking that mushroom, leek and fontina frittata may need to happen very soon.

Valentine’s Day – Whether you are cooking for a special someone or just need to treat yourself, check out Gourmet Mag’s “Cupid in the Kitchen” feature. You’ll be sure to find something sinful.

Ok, that’s all for this week. Have a great weekend and be safe in the snow!

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

