The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Cuisinart Yogurt Maker

February 11, 2013 , , ,

Screen shot 2013-02-12 at 7.42.52 AM
I hope everyone survived the blizzard! Things weren’t too bad here in Brooklyn. Yoga wasn’t cancelled – which is pretty much my gauge for anything weather related.

I spent the weekend making yogurt. Lots of it.

I have a new toy and it’s this – Cuisinart’s Thermo Electric Yogurt Maker. I’m not sure what caused the splurge purchase. Maybe it was the fact that I have to go to Costco to get decent priced Greek yogurt. Or maybe it was the $2 yogurts I buy a few times a week when I’m out of the Costco yogurt. Maybe all of those reasons go together?

Either way, it was perfection when I was taking a minute to look around William Sonoma and came across that puppy.

I’ve already done the math. With what I normally spend on products, I’m saving about $1/serving and that is AOK in my book. Even with the highest price local milk (7.40/gallon @ Eataly), I’m paying about 15 cents less per serving than I would for the cheapest yogurt at Costco ($5/35 ounce). (Cost does not reflect hassle or loss of brain cells that happen with a trip to Costco.)

The best thing about the Cuisinart is that once your set fermentation time is up, it automatically switches to a cooling phase. Long story short, I can set that shit to do it’s thing overnight and not worry about getting up in the morning. It seems that most yogurt makers just shut off.

I’m still working out the process a bit. Essentially you heat up milk to 160-180, which will rearrange the proteins so they properly ferment. You then cool to 110 degrees – a comfortable temperature for the starter to thrive. And then you put into machine to ferment.

There are many other, kind of tedious, ways to make yogurt without a machine. You can see one of them here. Others include putting in a jars inside a cooler filled with warm water.

I’m still toying with the fermentation time vs the amount of starter. I want to use the least amount of starter as possible and need to have a thick, creamy yogurt. It may not be there yet but hey, at least it’s yogurt!

I’ll be bringing the yogurt back a little later on once I have things a bit more note worthy. Until then, check it out! Have you ever tried to make your own yogurt? If so, what’s your secret?

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

I splurged on this as well, and I’ve been churning out non-stop yogurt. Made the mistake of trying skim milk which turned out horrible, but every other batch has been great, with different textures and tanginess.

Lloyd Jason Phillips

March 8, 2013

Just catching up on this and saw your comment. I’ve been using my homemade yogurt as the starter for about two months and it continues to get tangier and have a better texture. I stick with about one quarter whole milk and the rest nonfat. It’s moved away from the initial gelatin like texture and has gotten creamier. Still remains the best thing I’ve ever bought!

thebreukelenlife

June 3, 2013

