The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Five Minute Granola Bars

May 31, 2013

DSC_0336

I first made these during my juice ‘cleanse’. (I’m still using that term loosely.) I know now that adding grains into a cleanse is a huge no-no but at the time I thought “Hey, it’s vegan!” Eh. I’m still alive so whatever.

Anyways, these are pretty great and quite satisfying. The almond butter adds a nice sweetness and between the oats, pumpkin seeds and nuts, you are bound to be full. I’m still working out the sticking point. They are still crumbling a bit. The first batch was a bit crumbly but delicious nonetheless. I cured that with the last bit in the container by pouring white chocolate over them. Yes, it takes them from pretty great to oh my god these are amazing. But that’s not healthy so don’t do that. Hah!

Below is the original recipe which you can also see here on Food52. I subbed in dried cherries because I think raisins are gross. I also added in ½ cup sliced almonds and subbed maple syrup and honey because I don’t have agave. Enjoy!

DSC_0333

• 2 1/2cups rolled or quick oats
• 1cup raw pumpkin seeds (pepitas)
• 1/2cup raisins
• 2/3cups peanut or almond butter
• 1/2 to 2/3cup agave nectar or brown rice syrup (adjust based on how well things stick together)
• 1/8teaspoon sea salt (adjust based on which nut butter you use)

1. Mix oats, pumpkin seeds, and raisins in a large bowl.

2. Whisk together nut butter, sweetener, and sea salt. Pour into oat mixture, and mix well, till everything is sticky and combined. If it’s too dry, add a bit more agave.

3. Press mixture into a shallow baking dish that you’ve lined with foil or saran wrap. Cover with more foil/saran, press well into the baking dish, and refrigerate for 4 hours. Cut into bar shapes, wrap, and keep refridgerated till ready to use. They will last two weeks in the fridge.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

