The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Strawberry Lemonade – Summer’s Perfect Drink

June 26, 2013 , , ,

Written and Prepared by Pitasushi

photo (3)

In general, I’m pretty tame when it comes to what drinks I enjoy.  Coffee, tea, orange juice, and the occasional beer are about all I drink regularly.  Sugary soft drinks really hold no place in my heart as I’ve had an issue with carbonation since I can remember.  “Why would I want bubbles bursting on my tongue?” and “Why is this drink SO sweet?” were constant issues in my child hood.  I specifically remember accidentally swigging some Sprite during a 1st grade birthday party and spit-taking it across the table.

This is why I found it shocking when I absolutely couldn’t get enough of this drink when visiting my sister.  Strawberry lemonade.  The name itself inspires mouth-watering.  It’s beautiful, it’s delicious, not too sweet and not too sour, I couldn’t get enough.  That combined with my room mates purchase of a juicer (Thank you!) led me to try a hand at this new concoction.  Plus anything that you can easily add vodka to is tops in my book.

Strawberry Lemonade
adapted from CleanEatinginTexas

3/4 cup honey
1 lb strawberries
1 lemon
1 lime

In a medium saucepan combine 3/4 cup honey and 2 1/2 cups of water.  Heat until the honey and water have come together into a syrup.  This should not require boiling, just a gentle heating.  Put the pot aside and allow to cool while you get your juicer going!

photo (1)

Having a juicer makes this an extremely painless process. Simply cut the tops off your strawberries and toss them in.  It will produce about 2 cups of strawberry juice.  Tear the peel off your lemon and lime, then throw in the juicer as well.

Alternatively, you can puree the strawberries in a food processor and strain them for about 10 minutes until as much juice as possible has been extracted.  Juice the lemon and lime using either your hands or a hand held juicer.

photo (2)

Tip: When juicing lemons and limes, put in the microwave for about 15 seconds.  This will dramatically raise how much juice your citrus yields.

Combine your honey water, strawberry puree, lemon, and lime juice in a large pitcher along with an additional 2 1/2 cups of water, then chill.  Serve in a tall glass with ice (and vodka if you like) and enjoy the best drink of summer!

 

 

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

