The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Cold Brew Iced Coffee

July 8, 2013 , ,

DSC_0612
Drinking coffee is not something I take lightly. So, when I say that I went almost a month and a half without drinking it, it’s a big freaking deal. It started with the quasi juice cleanse I embarked on.

The sleep I was getting was unreal, so I kept with it. Not with the juice, obviously, but with the not drinking coffee. After two weeks, a cup at lunch sent me into a jittery spiral that kept me late into the night. After that I decided to stay off of it for as long as possible.

Until this week.

I’m not sure if it’s the heat or what, but I was ready to get back on the bandwagon. I cleaned the French press and went with it until yesterday a light bulb went off and I realized….

It’s time for iced coffee!

It was with such excitement that I broke out my cold brew recipes. I was like a schoolgirl all over again and I decided that I have to share.

Cold brew has been all over the place ever since Blue Bottle came to New York with their New Orleans style iced coffee. It is delicious and well worth the hype (and the $4/cup) if you haven’t had it yet.

They used to have their method online but it seems like that page has gone missing. Luckily for us, most blogs still have this posted.

Screen shot 2013-07-06 at 8.48.10 AM

Since I have neither chicory nor the energy to make simple syrup (yes I know it’s just sugar and water), I went with the basics. Coffee and water.

Overall, it is world’s better than using hot coffee and ice. The end result is a coffee concentrate which is smoother, richer, and less acidic than any iced coffee made from a hot brew.

The idea is basic. Coarse ground coffee, cold water, sit and wait. Generally it called for a 12 hour sit period on the counter. I went with 24 hours in the fridge.

I have a burr grinder so I went with the French Press grind as it’s the coarsest.

DSC_0603
DSC_0606

You will need 1 lb of your favorite coffee. I used a mix of Café Britt’s Espresso and Poas beans.

Put it in your biggest stock pot along with 2 ½ quarts of water.

Cover and sit in the fridge for 12-24 hrs. As someone who used to do with the 12 hour sit, I can say with confidence that 24 hrs is much, much better. It’s a richer more flavorful brew.

After it sits, give it a good mix and start straining. Some just go with a fine mesh strainer but to me, that still leaves too much residue. I do an initial strain to get the bulk of the grinds out. Then I go with a Viva towel over the strainer to get the sludge out. It works wonders.

DSC_0607

Enjoy!

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

