The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Don’t whey me down

July 10, 2013 , , ,

DSC_0590
Since I’ve started making yogurt, I’ve had the nagging feeling that I should be doing something with the discarded whey.

But what??

Who knows, I would say as I let it drain down the sink.

The recent article from Modern Farmer (“Whey too much: Greek Yogurt’s Dark Side”) got me thinking. “For every three or four ounces of milk, Chobani and other companies can produce only one ounce of creamy Greek yogurt. The rest becomes acid whey.” For every five cups of milk I use, I am left with almost 3 cups of whey.

While my small batch of goods had nothing on Chobani’s, I still felt as though I could be doing something with it. I cook! I bake! And most of all, I’m using expensive, organic, local milk to make my yogurt. I should be using every bit of it as possible.

A few articles got my brain clicking. This article from Prairie Homestead was great as well as a few others that likened whey to buttermilk. Sounds great to me!

I started with substituting water for whey in my pizza dough. Next up, biscuits and pancakes!

Below is the recipe from “My Pizza” by Jim Lahey. It uses all-purpose flour. I unfortunately only had bread flour in the house and it reacted a bit differently to the long rise period. I am realizing now that I was confusing the recipe from “My Bread” (my go-to with a shorter rise period plus bread flour) with the recipe from “My Pizza” (a longer rise period with all purpose flour and no freezing).

I was left with a very, very sticky dough.

My faux pas was fixed with about a cup more of all-purpose mixed in. It didn’t affect the end result too much (it could have used a bit more salt). All in all, we were left with a crisp, flavorful crust to which my beau responded “I wouldn’t know there was yogurt stuff in here if you didn’t tell me.” Which to me is a win, win.

This is the original recipe from “My Pizza.” Learn my lesson and heed the flour warnings!

DSC_0615

500 grams (about 3 ¾ cup) all purpose flour plus more for shaping
1 gram (1/4 tsp) dry yeast
16 grams ( 2 tsp) sea salt
250 grams (1 1/2 cups) water or whey

1. In a medium bowl, blend all dry ingredients. Add the water and mix thoroughly.
2. Cover with plastic wrap or a kitchen towel. Allow it to rise at room temperature for 18 hours or until it has doubled in size.
3. Flour a work surface and scrape out the dough. For each portion, start with the right side of the dough and put it towards the center; the do the same with the left, then the top and then the bottom. Shape each portion into a round and turn seam side down. The mounds should not be sticky, if they are dust with more flour.
4. If you won’t be using the dough right away wrap in plastic and refrigerate for up to 3 days. (I froze mine.) Leave at room temperature for 2-3 hours before using.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

