The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Smooth as Silk Corn Soup

August 23, 2013 , , , , ,

written and cooked by Pitasushii

Restaurant Week, also known as “the two month period that restaurants snootily serve the lower class and call it a week” has just passed and man did I do it right this year!  Five restaurants in five weeks took me through a tornado of amazing food around New York City.  Being a bit of a foody, and a relatively poor one, I have some places I regularly hit up for deals during this time.  My favorite as many of my friends know is Gotham Bar and Grill.

The reason it happens to be my favorite is that it somehow manages to be all my favorite things at once:  unpretentious, conveniently located, fantastic service, complex and well thought out dishes, few tourists, local ingredients, I could go on and on.  I decided to let my boyfriend in on the experience this time and reserved lunch for the two of us.  One of the dishes (that I didn’t ORDER!) was a fantastic corn soup with roasted cherry tomatoes.  I took one small taste from his bowl and my eyes rolled back in my head.  What a fool I was to order the striped bass ceviche (which was also excellent) and not this amazingly flavorful corn soup.

I was so mad at myself, I decided it was time to try and make it.  I was doubly inspired when I happened upon this corn soup recipe I found on Food52.  It was easy, few ingredients, and after a few tweaks was very close to the soup I fell in love with.  Give it a try.  It’s quick enough it can be thrown together after work and enjoyed for days after.

Corn Soup

Smooth as Silk Corn Soup inspired by 80twenty

• 5 cobs of corn
• 1 tbsp olive oil and 1 tbsp butter
• 3 small leeks, white  part only
• 1 small Yukon potato, rough chopped
• ¼ cup cashew pieces, plus a few extra
• 1 teaspoon dried tarragon
• 1 tablespoon lemon juice
• Salt and pepper to taste
• Cherry tomatoes (optional)

Remove the corn kernels from the cob and set aside.  This is easiest done by holding the corn vertically on top of a bowl on a large plate and cutting down the sides.  Break the cobs in half and place, along with 8 cups of water, in a large stock pot. Bring to a boil, cover and reduce to simmer for 30 minutes or more (if you’ve got the time).

To prepare the leeks, fill a large bowl with water then cut each leek in half down the middle until just before the stringy white root.   Slice the leeks into thin half moons and toss into the bowl of water.  Once all leeks have been sliced and submerged, toss around with your hands to loosen any sediment, then scoop the cleaned leeks off the top.  All of the sediment will be on the bottom of the bowl so scoop, don’t strain!  This may sound like a huge pain in the ass, but I promise you, it’s worth it to not chomp down on some sand like you’re eating your soup at the beach.

As the corn stock is cooking, in a second large pot heat the olive oil and butter over medium heat. Add the leeks and cook until just soft and translucent.  Once the corn stock is ready, add to the leeks along with reserved corn kernels, potato, cashews, and tarragon then simmer for 30 minutes.

Take off heat and using an immersion blender, blend until completely smooth.  This could take about 5 minutes depending on your blender.  If you have a really great blender, power to you!

This next part is a pain but makes a huge difference.  Press the soup through a fine mesh sieve.  You will need to stir it and scrape the sides to get all the liquid through, but I promise it is worth it.

The soup should be extremely smooth and fragrant.  Add lemon and season with salt and pepper to taste.  Serve sprinkled with some extra crushed cashew pieces, roasted cherry tomatoes (literally halved tomatoes I toasted for 5 minutes on some tin foil), and a drizzle of olive oil.  Enjoy!

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

