The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Summer Sunday Funday

July 28, 2014 , ,

IMG_0639

I wish I could say I’ve been a source of inspiration in the kitchen but as of late, things have been a little bit dry. Between navigating my busy work season along with yoga teacher training, I am only now starting to get back on my feet. The last three weekends were spent completely comatose.

This weekend wasn’t much different. I rallied a bit but not too far. I ventured into some roasted tofu, brown rice and lemon grass. It proved worthy. I attempted another Bikram visit. That proved….difficult. But really, the highlight of the weekend was not spent in the house, but walking, ice creaming and beaching. It is summer after all!

J put it best as we were lounging on the rooftop of the new Ample hills in Gowanus. “Why would we pay so much to live here if we’re not going to go out and do the stuff that makes living here to expensive?”

Amen to that.

I never give myself enough credit. Because I would be lying to you and my weight watchers counter if I didn’t tell you that some cookies did get made yesterday. Sunday seemed to be the summer day that never ended and I will forever be happy for it this week. We rose early – grabbing bagels for a beach time breakfast. The bathroom got cleaned. Cookies and pizza got made. Trash and recycling- taken out. Floor – swiffered. Oh and the entire season 2 of Orange is the New Black? Completed along side two hours of restorative yoga poses. Yes, I slept deliciously.

DSC_0828

Cookies? I did mention cookies didn’t I? A midst the afternoon naptime, my Martha Stewart “Cookies” book caught my eye. I wanted something warm and simple to go with ice cream so I went with the soft and chewy chocolate chip cookie. It’s really the best and requires so little ingredients that it’s a no brainer.

The recipe calls for 1 heaping tablespoon of dough per cookie to make 3-dozen. I used one heaping and one level combined to make one good-sized cookie and got 18 cookies out of the batch.

Enjoy!

DSC_0832

2 ¼ cup all purpose flour
½ teaspoon baking soda
1 cup (2 sticks of butter)
½ cup granulated sugar
1 cup light brown sugar – packed
1 tsp coarse salt
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 large eggs
2 cups semi-sweet or milk chocolate chips – a combo is good too

1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. Whisk flour and baking soda together in a bowl.
3. Beat sugars and butter together until light and fluffy – about 2 minutes.
4. Add salt, vanilla and eggs – mix until well blended – about 1 minute.
5. Mix in flour mixture
6. Mix in chocolate.
7. Drop your cookie dough measurement of choice (1 heaping tbsp?) onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper spacing a few inches apart. Bake cookies rotating half way through until edges are still brown but centers are still soft. 10-12 minutes. Let cool on cookie sheets for 2 minutes. Transfer to wire wracks to cool completely. Can be stored between sheets of parchment in a Tupperware container for up to 1 week.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

