The Breukelen Life

The Breukelen Life

Food, Yoga and Travel in Brooklyn

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Roasted Tomato Quiche with Goat Cheese

August 6, 2014 , ,

DSC_0836

Last week I picked up the first of many containers of tomatoes at the farmers market. These were pretty little puppies, shaped like a fat tear drop and had the word “candy” in the name. No, I cannot remember where I got them.

My relationship with tomatoes has always been long, drawn out and shaky. Up until about 4 or 5 years ago, I never ate them except sparingly on bruschetta doused heavily in olive oil and garlic. On their own? Forget it. Slowly and gently the snob in me started to experiment with heirloom tomatoes, the big fat ones that I historically shunned but grew interested in because… media. I wouldn’t eat them on their own but they grew in numbers on my plates mixed in with pasta and rice dishes. I still won’t eat them on their own but their domination is clear this summer as I threw the first of this batch in a tomato and cucumber salad.

And now, quiche! Quiche with gently roasted tomatoes in the oven with olive oil and flaky sea salt, this thing is a beauty. I started with this recipe from TheKitchn but as per usual, I started mixing up several recipes in my head at once.

DSC_0838

I used all my tomatoes because why not? I ended up with about 1 ½ cups extra custard so I put some tomatoes aside and made two mini crustless quiches in my Wreck jars.

Enjoy! (And in case you are curious, there are 8 servings – 7 Weight watchers points/serving, 4 pts w/o the crust)

DSC_0842

1 pie crust. (Use your favorite recipe or your favorite grocery store to pick one up at. I prefer Union Market but went with Fairway this time.)
11 ounces cherry tomatoes
2 teaspoons olive oil
1/4 teaspoon salt
6 large eggs
1 1/2 cup whole milk
1/2 cup heavy cream
½ cup nonfat milk
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, finely grated
1/2 cup goat cheese

Preheat oven to 375. Pre-bake crust for 5 minutes.

In a large bowl whisk together the eggs, milk, cream and 3/4 teaspoon salt until frothy.

Mix in half of the cheeses. Scatter half the tomatoes and half the goat cheese, crumbled, over the bottom of the crust. Pour in the egg custard. Scatter the remaining tomatoes and crumble the remaining goat cheese around the custard. Scatter the remaining Parmesan cheese evenly over the top.

Bake for 45-50 minutes, or until the center is set, but still a little jiggly. (I forgot about mine and checked right at 50 minutes when the buzzer went off. It was perfection.)
If the crust starts to brown too much during baking, wrap foil around the edges of the pan to protect it.

Let quiche cool for at least 15 minutes before serving.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

